What is a nuclear rocket engine?

A nuclear thermal rocket (NTR) is a type of thermal rocket where the heat from a nuclear fission reactor replaces the propellants in a chemical rocket. In an NTR, liquid hydrogen is heated to a high temperature in a nuclear reactor and then expands through a rocket nozzle to create thrust.

---

A missile