How do you tell the gender of a red eared slider?

To tell the gender of your red-eared slider turtle, feel the bottom (underside) of the shell with your hand. If the plastron is flat or slightly curved outwards, the slider is a female. If it curves inwards, the slider is a male. The shell shape starts to develop between 1 to 2 years old.