Why doesn't the west coast get hurricanes?

There are two main reasons. The first is that hurricanes in the northern hemisphere tend to move toward the west-northwest. The second factor is the difference in water temperatures. Along the West Coast, ocean-surface temperatures are too cold to sustain a hurricane.