How much sunlight does an aloe vera plant need?

Six to eight hours of direct sun is best, although most aloe vera plants will tolerate some light shade or filtered sun at midday. A south- or west-facing outdoor area and slightly sandy soil provide ideal conditions for growing aloe vera, whether in a pot or in the ground.