What is a small sailing ship called?

A dinghy is a relatively common sailboat owing to its short overall length and ease of manoeuvring. Used in competitions and in the port industry, generally, dinghies are used to transport people or small cargo to and from a larger vessel such as a cruise ship that is anchored away from the shore.