Why is marvel called marvel?

Marvel was first known as Timely Comics. It was set up in 1939 by New York magazine publisher Martin Goodman. From 1951 the company's comics were printed under the name Atlas but this was changed to Marvel in 1961. Marvel means something that is amazing or astonishing.