What is african foo foo?

Fufu (or foofoo, foufou) is a staple food common in many countries in West Africa such as Sierra Leone, Ghana, Liberia, and Nigeria. It is made in the traditional Ghanaian and Nigerian method by mixing and pounding separate equal portions of cassava and green plantain flour, thoroughly with water.