What is shortening in baking?

Shortening, is a fat used for cooking, that is solid at room temperature, and the term usually refers to, a vegetable based fat, not an animal based fat.

---

Shortening is any type of solid fat used to prevent the formation of a gluten matrix in baked goods, allowing for the creation of non-elastic pastries like cakes.

---

Shortening is any fat that is a solid at room temperature and used to make crumbly pastry and other food products. Although butter is solid at room temperature and is frequently used in making pastry, the term "shortening" seldom refers to butter, but is more closely related to margarine.