Is wellington the world's windiest city?

Wellington, New Zealand is the windiest city in the world with an annual average wind speed of 29.6 kph (or 18.4 mph). Located in a wind corridor between the South and North Islands of New Zealand, Wellington on average can see 173 days with winds above 59 kph, and 22 days above 74 kph.