When did world war two start in europe?

The start of the war in Europe is generally held to be 1 September 1939, beginning with the German invasion of Poland; the United Kingdom and France declared war on Germany two days later - according to Weinberg, Gerhard L. (2005). A World at Arms: A Global History of World War II.