Why are sweatpants called sweatpants?

These design and material consumes less heat as compared to other conventional trousers or jeans (when it was invented, around 1921) so they named it as 'Sweat pants'. Sweat pants are loose and baggy kind of thus perfect for sporty athletic people while they exercise, jogging or whatever.