What is the movie biloxi blues about?

The 1988 comedy film Biloxi Blues, based on a Neil Simon play, centers on teenager Eugene Jerome's experiences in basic training in Biloxi, Mississippi during World War II. Jerome makes observations about the numerous exaggerated characters in the army camp, including the cruel Sergeant Toomey.