What is it mean if a dog's nose is wet?

The primary reason dogs' noses are wet is because dogs secrete a mucous that aids their sense of smell. But there are several other reasons. Dog's sweat through their paws and noses, which helps them cool down. And, as a dog owner, you know that they also lick their noses a lot.