How did the jaguars get their name?

The Jaguars nickname was selected through a fan contest in 1991, 2 years before the city was officially awarded an expansion team and 4 years before the team would begin play. While Jaguars aren't native to Jacksonville, the oldest living jaguar in North America was housed in the Jacksonville Zoo.