What is x. b. mean?

The CDC estimates that X B B Covid variant has more than doubled its share of the Covid-19 pie each week for the last four, rising from about 4% to 41% of new infections over the month of December. In the Northeast, the CDC estimates, X B B.is causing 75% of new cases.