How many lakes are there in the world?

According to a survey conducted by Uppsala University, in Sweden, reported by the Smithsonian in 2014, there are approximately 117 million lakes in the world. This conclusion is the result of satellite images the survey team counted of all lakes in the world that were bigger than half an acre.