Do you know what an orange is?

An orange is a medium sized citrus fruit that is squeezed for juice and its peel can be made into candy.

---

The orange is a hybrid between pomelo (Citrus maxima) and mandarin (Citrus reticulata). The chloroplast genome, and therefore the maternal line, is that of pomelo. The sweet orange has had its full genome sequenced.