Can you freeze tofu?

Yes, you can freeze tofu, but it will change its texture. You would freeze and then thaw tofu if you want to use it as a meat substitute in recipes such as Chili. After thawing the tofu, squeeze it like a sponge to remove as much water as possible and tear it into small pieces like hamburger.