How do you lower potassium?

If your potassium levels are too high your doctor will usually give you medications to lower them safely. You can do your part by changing your diet. High-potassium foods to avoid include root veggies, bananas & plantains, avocado, spinach, dried fruits, beans, potato chips & fries, nuts & yogurt.