What's the difference between oysters and clams?

What's the difference between oysters and clams? The shell of a clam is smooth and shiny while an oyster has a rough outer shell. Both the organisms take in water through the shells but the filtering procedure is different. Oysters produce pearls which are in much demand but clams do not.