What is the sign of nine?

According to American Sign Language, the number 9 is signed by holding up your open, dominant hand, facing out, then touching your thumb and index finger together.

---

In American Sign Language, the number 9 is signed by holding up your open, dominant hand, facing out, then touching your thumb and index finger together. Be careful where you hold your hand when you do this. If it's held low, it means something else entirely.