How do i make homemade gravy?

Start with a roux of 1:2 parts butter to flour. Melt. Add broth, milk, liquid of your choice. Stir over low heat until thickened. Season with salt and pepper or your choice of seasoning. You can also use pan drippings by removing fat or gristle and adding cornstarch to pan. Stir until thickened.