How many species of cockroach are there?

There are actually 4,500 species of cockroaches in the world. But just 30 are considered pests. Of those 30, however, four especially excel at making a nuisance of themselves: the German, American, Australian and Oriental cockroaches.

---

There are over 4,500 species of cockroach, though less than 30 of these are common in human habitats. Cockroaches are generally distinguished by their broad flat body, thick leathery fore wings, and a shield-like structure called a pronotum that overhangs their head.