Is o. d. a word?

Yes, "od," spelled O-D, is indeed a real word, though a rather obsolete one. It's the name of a force once thought to be responsible for magnetism and other phenomena. These days, though, O-D is generally seen only as an abbreviation, most often for the word "overdose."