How can you tell if onions have gone bad?

Spoiled onions may develop dark spots, which will eventually begin to grow mold. Onions that have started sprouting indicate they're beginning to go bad. You can also feel your onions to check how fresh they are. Onions with soft or mushy spots are starting to go bad.