Why are duck boots called duck boots?

Duck Boots were first created by Leon Leonwood Bean, the founder of L.L. Bean. The great American outdoorsman found that his feet were almost always wet after hunting trips. He wanted to simply combine the rubber sole of a work boot with the leather of a casual boot.