Who wrote manifest destiny?

In the 19th century, manifest destiny was a widely held belief in the United States that its settlers were destined to expand across North America. Newspaper editor John O'Sullivan is generally credited with coining the term manifest destiny in 1845 to describe the essence of this mindset.