What is a sousa?

A sousa (more properly, sousaphone) is a musical instrument, specifically a brass wind instrument in the tuba family. Created around 1893, it was designed to be easier to play than the concert tuba while standing or marching. The sousaphone is named after bandleader and composer John Philip Sousa.