What is the difference between a ragdoll and birman cat?

Ragdoll cats and Birman cats are two different breeds. Ragdolls originated in the United States by breeding 2 non pedigreed cats. One appeared to be part Persian and the other part Birman. Birmans originated in Burma, which is now known as Myanmar. Ragdolls are a bit larger and easier going.