How many periods are in a hockey game?

There are 3 periods of regulation time. If the game is still tied at the end of 3 periods there will be a period of sudden death overtime. If the game is still tied it will proceed to a shootout or, in NHL playoffs, will continue for as many sudden death overtimes are needed for a winner to emerge.