What is the japanese stock index?

Nikkei 225 is an index that belongs to the Tokyo Stock Exchange (TSE). The Nihon Keizai Shimbun (Nikkei) calculates the index daily since September 7, 1950. Nikkei 225 index is a price-weighted average index, and its components are reviewed once a year.