Why is it called buffalo plaid?

Buffalo plaid originated from none other than Woolrich Woolen Mills. The company began producing the Buffalo Check shirt around 1850s. Legend has it that Woolrich's designer of the distinctive style owned a herd of buffalo and that's how it got its name.