Why did ricki lake lose her hair?

Lake said the thinning and breakage started after she played in Hairspray in 1988 and her hair was triple-processed and teased every two weeks while filming. other factors Were: "yo-yo dieting," birth control, stress, intense weight fluctuations, her pregnancies, hair dye.