What us a czar?

A tsar was a ruler, the title used by Slavic monarchs such as the Russian emperor. It is a corruption of the Latin title Caesar. Today it is often used informally to refer to the director of a government task force, such as the drug tsar, handling drug-control policies on illegal drugs in the U.S.