When did the first mickey mouse cartoon come out?

The first Mickey Mouse cartoon was actually "Plane Crazy", but it was silent and was shown only to a test audience (on May 15th, 1928 - it failed to attract a distributor. "Steamboat Willie" was released later in 1928 and became successful.