Why do they call boobytraps boobytraps?

The definition of "booby" to mean "fool" has been in the English language since the 17th century. It likely originated from the Latin word "balbus," meaning "fumbling" or "stammering." A boobytrap originally meant "a practical joke" but took on a more macabre definition during World War I.