Who is the main protagonist in the metroid series?

The main protagonist in the Metroid series is Samus. Samus Aran is one of the most iconic characters in videogame history. Along with Tomb Raider's Lara Croft, she is also one of the few female protagonists to become one of the "starring" characters of the videogame industry.