Tell me about john brown's raid?

John Brown and 22 men took control of the federal arsenal at Harper's Ferry, Virginia from October 16 to October 18, 1859. Brown hoped it would inspire a slave revolt; but U.S. forces defeated the group. Northern abolitionists saw the government's execution of Brown for treason as unjust.