Where does turmeric come from?

Turmeric is a flowering plant, Curcuma longa of the ginger family, Zingiberaceae. The rhizomes are used fresh or boiled in water and dried, after which they are ground into a deep orange-yellow powder used as a coloring and flavoring agent in many Asian cuisines and for dyeing.