When is spaghetti squash ripe?

When the squash has turned a golden yellow or a dark yellowish color, it is usually ready to be picked. The skin of the squash will be very thick and hard. If you use your fingernail to poke the squash, you will know it's ripe if your nail doesn't penetrate the squash