What's a blue warrant?

A blue warrant is an order for apprehension of a parolee on suspicion of violation of a term or terms of his parole release. A blue warrant is typically issued without the knowledge of the parolee and his parole officer is not obligated to inform him of the issuance of a blue warrant.