Who was pope innocent the third?

Pope Innocent the third, (Lotario de' Conti), was born in 1160 or 1161. He reigned as Pope from 1198-1216 and was one of the most influential pontiff's of the Middle Ages. Innocent built the papacy into a more powerful and prestigious institution than it had ever been before.