What's the scientific name for chlorine?

Chlorine is a chemical element with the symbol Cl and atomic number 17. The second-lightest of the halogens, it appears between fluorine and bromine in the periodic table and its properties are mostly intermediate between them. Chlorine is a yellow-green gas at room temperature.

---

According to Orenda, there are several forms of chlorine. Pure chlorine gas is C L 2, and just called chlorine. There are chlorides and chlorites too. Swimming pool chlorines are most commonly liquid sodium hypochlorite, or dry calcium hypochlorite.