Why do dogs smack their lips?

A dog smacks its lips when it's hungry. The dog is probably drooling and the lip-licking prevents saliva from pouring out of its mouth. Dogs can also smack their lips when they are stressed or uneasy. This is a calming signal, as it appears most often when a dog is uncomfortable or under pressure.