How many twins are in the world?

1.6 million twins are born each year, (one in every 42 children is born a twin.) Delayed childbearing and medical techniques such as IVF have seen the rate of twin births rise by a third since the 1980s. Since twin's deaths are not usually reported as a twin death, the world twin total is unknown.