What is a common wealth of the united states?

Commonwealth is a term used by four of the 50 states of the United States in their full official state names.The states of Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia, are in the Eastern United States, and prior to formation of the United States in 1776, were British colonial possessions.