What's the difference between old-fashioned oats and quick cooking oats?

Both have been flattened with large rollers, but quick-cooking oats are cut into smaller pieces first. As a result, quick-cooking oats cook faster, and they offer a more delicate texture to baked goods and desserts. If you want a heartier texture, use old-fashioned oats.