What's the origin of the word sandwich?

The word sandwich came from the 4th Earl of Sandwich, an English nobleman said to have eaten food in this form.

---

It was named after John Montagu, 4th Earl of Sandwich, an eighteenth-century English aristocrat. It is said that he ordered his valet to bring him meat tucked between two pieces of bread, and others began to order "the same as Sandwich!"