Where do sparkles come from?

Sparkles come from tiny reflective surfaces which redirect light into eyes or photo sensors. Irregular reflective surfaces like water, glitter, or snow can appear to sparkle as you walk due to movement through the paths of the light rays reflecting off of their surfaces.