When did scotland get it's independence?

Through the Middle Ages Scotland was an independent from England. The two kingdoms united into one called Great Britain in 1707. Campaigns for self-government began in the 19th century, with a referendum on devolution being held in 1997. A Scottish Parliament was established on 1 July 1999.